Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Equipment Recommendation - 4 Newb Teacher

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

I am a HS teacher (prior computer tech/network admin) and have had numberous requests from students to buy some equipment for the VirtualDJ program they use in class. My class is an open-technology projects class that students can learn anything, one of the popular of course is music....beats, live music and djing.

Since I am not a DJ, Ive done my best to research what they will need. Of course here are my restrictions:
1. Have to be purchased from a vendor that accepts purchasing orders. The two I found are www.pssl.com / www.platinum-records.com
2. My max budget of total items cannot exceed $1500 US (as close to this amount as possible as less money I will just loose it!)

My own requirements:
1. Has to be as computer oriented as possible (laptop + software). I need for students to interact with virtualDJ but not remove it.
2. Interact with my other classroom instruments, we have (iGuitar, Maudio Ozone, Yamaha DD55)
3. Karaoke capable for students to sing.....not even sure if VDJ does this but some type of easy hookup equipment like the one hercules has. Two students want to be on two different screens (or projectors) and be able to sing a duet and use VDJ in real time to do some effects while karaoke?
4. Students are required to do a 'presentation' for a final grade if they choose djing. This means they have to do it for 'real' somewhere at a dance, party, club...etc. I know $1500 doesnt make a professional, but I just want to get my students as close as I can with the equipment of this budget.

Student Requirements:
1. They want to do traditional DJ (vinyl) if possible
2. Needs to have the VDJ interface replicated via hardware...controller?
3. They want to use the VideoDJ part of it more....any hardware I need?
4. Hook-up their their ipod or other mp3 player
5. Use CD instead of turntables.