Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Automatic Crossfading

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

I've been a VDJ for a couple of years...but I'm interested to see if VDJ can update their software to include the ability to automatically crossfade from one song to another. Not after the last beat...but rather fading at a specific time before the song actually ends. For example, if Song A's last beat is 20 seconds from the end but I'd like the song to fade out 8 seconds before the end and smoothly blend into the next song.

WinAmp can do this easily and I think Automix can do it too....but VDJ can't. Help!!

When might this be useful?? Since I'm a professional dancer and DJ my own parties, its very common for me to want to dance 2 or 3 songs in a row while leaving VDJ to automatically crossfade between songs to keep the flow. It is also useful when the DJ has to go to the bathroom, or when a DJ is setting things up during dinner hour at a function.

Thanks,
SwingShoes

Posted Tue 25 Jul 06 @ 12:26 am
DJ-ALFPRO InfinityModeratorMember since 2005
I don't use automix at all but I think you can set up VDJ to crossfade at 8 seconds before end using Cue's and setting option. Try it out.

Posted Tue 25 Jul 06 @ 2:04 am
it would be cool to VDJ count 16, 32 or 64 last beats in song, and mix it with first 16/32/64 beats in next song, and that we have option for that :) I would never leave VDJ to mix alone because i know it would not sound nice. If you want to go to the toilet, play some premixed mix which last 10-15 minutes xexe :) I would never trust a machine...

Posted Tue 25 Jul 06 @ 3:13 pm
SupaconPRO InfinityMember since 2005
Virtual DJ needs some work on its automatic mixing. The best system for this that I've seen is really quite simple, and is exemplefied by the Continuator plugin for foobar2000.