Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Disable Gain

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Is there any way to disable the gain controls? I accidentally clicked my mouse on the gain level bar, it nearly blew my speakers out. In any case, I am not sure how useful these gains are except as another set of volume control. Could someone illuminate me on the usage of these gain controls? It seems to me that they could do more damage than good. What they can accomplish could easily be accomplised by wider range volume controls.

Posted Sun 22 Sep 02 @ 2:59 pm
I think there is no way. But, edit skin (bpm file) and paste with a brush on the gains.

Posted Sun 22 Sep 02 @ 4:26 pm
As I am new to this software, I have no clue how to paste anything on anything. Thanks anyway.

Posted Sun 22 Sep 02 @ 4:33 pm
GrimmPRO InfinityMember since 2003
I've made a suggestion for the gain control which I *hope* the programmers will listen to, but...

The gain control as it is now changes a fixed amount per pixel movement. This mean that for every pixel you move the gain slider, the gain will change approximately .5 to .6

However, problems like your arrise when you accidently hit the gain on large sliders. Since the gain moves a fixed amount, if you have say 30 pixels of positive gain available, that means the gain can go as high as 17+.

The only solution I can think of now is to make sure skins limit the available movement of the gain, so that its adjustment range is limited. For skins already made, you can edit the .xml file yourself to limit the range the gain control moves.

Just check the help files for .xml on this site. Most skinners will keep the .xml file in order to make it easier to edit, so you sould be able to just follow along and find the values you need to change.