Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: Mic Volume Control Vestax vci-400

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Not sure what I am wanting to do is possible - I'm a complete noob when it comes to hardware controllers, and the midi interface.

However - I have it 'sort of' working, which tells me it could just be a programming error on my end?
I use the vestax vci-400, Vitrual DJ 8, and a USB microphone to stream online. I'm wanting to move away from any mouse or keyboard controls, so I'd like to assign the mic on/off, or mic volume to one of the controls in the center of the mixer, normally used for video - I think.

I've figured out that the small slider control is called "VIDEO_FX_PARAM", and I've tried setting that to mic_volume - but when I use the slider - it either adjusts the mic to full volume, and stops working, or, adjusts the mic to zero volume, and stops working. I want it to work as a volume slider - is there any way to do this?

Posted Mon 16 Nov 15 @ 5:08 pm
As a temporary solution - I have remapped one of the video tac swtiches to turn the mic on and off. I would still like to adjust its volume on the fly however.

Posted Mon 16 Nov 15 @ 5:52 pm
PachNPRO InfinityMember since 2009
Can't you remap the mic vol sliders at the top left corner of the unit?

Posted Mon 16 Nov 15 @ 6:08 pm

Posted Mon 16 Nov 15 @ 9:06 pm
Another strange thing - the slider seems to be working, just not getting applied, if that makes sense.

When I move the slider that I have bound to mic volume, i can see the 'ghost' knob turn in vdj (similar to when you move your crossfader via software, how it shows the "echo" from the hardware slider so you know where it is?) But the volume does not change.

Posted Mon 16 Nov 15 @ 9:11 pm
.....and you have this USB mic configured as a mic input to VDJ? Is the mic actually sending a signal through VDJ (can you hear it on VDJs output)?