Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: Maintain datase on seperate PC

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Hi there,

I'm new to VDJ 8 - and it is really looking nice - and im almost ready to go and use VDJ 8 as my DJ playout software.

I'm sitting right now with one question/issue.

My DJ machine is not suitiable for editing, adding new tracks etc. - i prefer to do that on a seperate production PC, when i can mess around with cue points, playlists etc.

I have played around with almost all the advanced settings (browser settings). I have noticed that VDJ i seeing all my files on my drives, also on my C drive, so if i'm seeing a file on
my C drive there is information added to the database.xml file, however i only want files placed on the drive letter "H" to be added to the database XML file. On my DJ setup PC
i also have the drive letter "H" as my music working library, and i have a tool installed so the files on the two Pc's always is excatly the same.

So how do i get around this issue the correct way, the idea is that when i'm done with my editing etc. i like to be able to just transfer the database.xml file to the other PC, and then
all should just Work as a charm :) as mentioned i believe i have been around all the settings in the browser section, also the getTageAuto etc. but the file information end up in the
XML file anyway.

Thanks in advance,
Mikael, Denmark

Posted Wed 15 Oct 14 @ 2:48 pm
if all the drive letters are the same and files in the same locations transferring the database.xml will transfer just the music database including cue info to the other pc if u need playlists and other stuff like settings you might just consider transferring the entire folder located here "C:\Users\(your username)\Documents\VirtualDJ" to the other pc

Posted Thu 16 Oct 14 @ 3:25 pm
prezPRO InfinityMember since 2005
yes, but one downside is that VDJ is still not "portable" friendly.