Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: Beginner needing major help with his Pioneer DDJ-ERGO - Page: 1

This part of topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information

Uggh, I don't even know where to begin. Im new to DJ'ing and just bought a brand new Pioneer DDJ-ERGO controller hooked up to a Toshiba laptop running Windows 7.

The problems Im having is I just recently installed Windows 7 Ultimate on the laptop and reformatted everything. Updated all drivers (I think), and installed VDJ.

When I pull up VDJ, I get the error (( ERROR IN THE SOUND DRIVER (DIRECTX/WDM):YOUR SOUNDCARD IS PROBABLY NOT CONNECTED, OR THE SETTINGS ARE INCORRECT.

I wouldnt know where to begin to correct this problem. I went to Device Manager too see if there were any yellow ? marks, and there was not. Went to speaker (Volume) and saw it was set on LINE (Pioneer DDJ-ERGO)). Well, ever since I plugged in the ERGO in the USB slot, my sound on my computer has gone dead. I can't play anything at all.

The ERGO has an 8 gauge speaker cable going into the MASTER input in the back of the controller.
From there it runs to a Mackie 1801 sub powered speaker box
Output A and B have cables going out of the Sub to two TH-15A Mackie PA's.

Again, no sound but Im thinking since the sound is relying on the EGO to work, that is why Im not getting any sound, period.

One other problem I noticed is the ERGO doesnt seem to respond to the laptop. Even though I get the soundcard error above, the software still comes up, and Im able to load manually from the laptop an audio track, but the ERGO doesnt respond when i press the play button on Deck A where its loaded too on the software. Just weird. Is this because the soundcard first needs to be fixed?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Posted Sun 11 Mar 12 @ 9:45 pm
blckjckPRO InfinityMember since 2008
First, if you unplug the ERGO and reboot, do you have sound with the laptop speakers, if so, with Virtual DJ?