Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Plugins

Topic: Hercules RMX / Steel Custom Mapping - Page: 1

This part of topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information

Hi all

I am looking to create a custom mapper specifically for my needs. ( Yes i will happily upload and make available when done with explainations)

As a mashup artist i dont play with conventional buttons like seek etc and want to customise these

I understand that the mappers built into VDJ is made alot easier in version 6, but i am looking for some clarification on use.

I have read the articles on vdj scripts, and some times as an end user, the point a developer is making, is not so clear. So please bear with me on this

What i think i understand is that there are two configuration files required for a mapper to work correctly, the hercules mapper under the mappers folder and another file ( please clarrify what and where this file is )

What i would expect, is that you have a mapper that is used for sending and recieving of mid commands, for example the playbutton {id} on device maps to play funtion in software, and this seems to be clear in the config > mappers section

What i dont understand is the underlaying commands structure. lets take the command "button 1" which maps to the action djc_button1, but where is the underlaying code which specifies which funtion djc_button1 should carry out, e.g effect beatgrid

I have 3 scenarios i want to achieve at first and if someone can explain how they would implement these, i am confident i can work out the rest

1) I would like the sync button to do three funtions at once, play sync, and beat lock ( like in the older version of VDJ 3.x )
2) The 6 custom buttons on hercules RMX / Steel, i would like to map 6 effects to the 6 buttons then on pressing shift, this would activate buttons 7 - 12 to for looping 2/4/8/etc