Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Will this work?

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Im no pro DJ. I DJ at a local bar. Nothing fancy. Our set up now is only 4 speakers. (Not sure what kind but I seen the price tag, and holy crap they arent cheap) 2 cd players. a karaoke player. a mixer and an amp. and Oh yeah. 3 mic's.

I am buying a laptop and will be going with 2 soundcards. (still not even sure how to hook it up yet, but ill deal with that after I get my laptop)

Will VirtualDJ HomeEdition 2006 work for me?

All Im looking for. Is to play music. Maybe some video's. Do some Karaoke. maybe a little mixing. I wont be using any turntables as its not really that kind of bar.

My whole idea of going the laptop way is to get rid of the cd players and whatever other equipment I can.

Posted Tue 12 Sep 06 @ 7:31 pm
Depends...

If you want to connect it to an external mixer, with one channel out for each virtual deck in software, you need both two soundcards or 4.1/5.1 soundcard AND the pro version.

You can mix and prelisten with ONE soundcard on the home edition (using Hercules console OR a 4.1/5.1 soundcard), BUT this will be done in software then, and would not be as good as doing hardware mixing on external mixer.

Adding to that, home version is at 3.4, while pro version is at 4.0.

And with the internet download discount (30% off), there really isnt that much to save with the limited home edition.

Would warmly recommend PRO version, as long as its used live. The home edition is ok at home, for practice, but for a working dj the pro version gives so many benefits, its really needed....

Posted Tue 12 Sep 06 @ 7:36 pm
Yeah I was just looking at the products page again. I think you're right. With the 30% discount. It would be stupid not to go with the pro. If I have questions regarding the software im sure I can ask here without getting flammed like other websites.