Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: FLANGING distortion occurs on high frequencies during pitch flanging!

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

[OOPS! I MEANT "DURING PITCH SHIFTING"... not FLANGING. Sorry, typo!]

Hi VDJ support team,

I've been a loyal supporter and user of Virtual DJ, even before its creation, since the time of AtomixMP3 (I own both). I've come across a terrible problem with flanging during pitch shifting of minimal amounts on tracks that have prominent high frequencies. I've been DJing for over 7 years and I know what I'm talking about, I don't get this problem with my CDJ's, even when I burn the same track to CDR to spin on my CDJ's. Look into it, tell me what you think. I have included a link to a sample I recorded just so you know exactly what I mean. I recorded a 40sec clip to let you hear the problem. I let the track play for the first 32 beats to let you hear what it's like normally, then when I start to adjust the pitch a value of +1 at around 15secs into the song, you can tell the massive flanging problems. I let the track run on for another 32beats as I play with the pitch, illustrating the problems as I tweak the pitch by values of +/-1. I reset the pitch to the original BPM at around the 28sec mark and immediately, the flanging is gone. You can clearly tell its fine after that, when the pitch is at its original state.

Here is the link to the sample:

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~aaronjiang/sample.mp3

Do get back to me on this. Thanks!

Best Regards,
AJ

p.s. BTW, your software still rocks...

Posted Tue 20 Sep 05 @ 3:10 am
bagpussPRO InfinityMember since 2003
Do you have timesretch OFF?, Limiter OFF?, gain at or below -3.5?.

Posted Tue 20 Sep 05 @ 3:50 pm
Can´t tell about his settings, but it´s not connected to any of the above settings. I have all this setup like you said, from the moment I started using VDJ, and I do have the problem as well.