Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Start on Downbeat, not Pickup beat
Hi. Should be an easy fix but I haven't figured it out yet. I want VDJ to start on the 1, Downbeat, even though there is a Pickup beat, 4, where the song technically begins. Yes, I could set a cue marker on the 1, but can't VDJ just have a set point for the downbeat of the song so I don't have to bother tapping a cue marker to move the start over by one beat? I believe Serato does this.
Thanks!

Posted Sat 02 Mar 24 @ 3:24 pm
What song are you referring to (so that we can see/hear what you mean)?

Posted Sat 02 Mar 24 @ 3:49 pm
locoDogPRO InfinityModeratorMember since 2013
set the load point poi for the track, this is the reason it exists [one of the reasons]

Posted Sat 02 Mar 24 @ 4:03 pm
Okay, POI editor. That was my answer. Thanks! I'm new to this, so still learning.

Posted Sat 02 Mar 24 @ 5:08 pm
GroovinDJ, the song was 'There it is' by Shalamar. It begins with a pickup snare hit on the 4, which creates problems for DJing when you just want the song to start on the 1.

Posted Sat 02 Mar 24 @ 5:11 pm
Its unclear exactly what you wish to do.

And it's possible, you are asking how to adjust the CBG so that the 1 beat of the song, is on the colored tick (the 1 beat of the CBG).

check the manual for the many ways of adjusting the CBG.

or an oversimplified method, is to create a custom button, with script:
set_firstbeat

then click button where you wish the first beat to be ( the 1 beat at the beginning of the song)

Posted Sat 02 Mar 24 @ 5:22 pm
user28480722 wrote :
'There it is' by Shalamar

Hmmm, I've just loaded it up here, and the BPM editor shows the downbeat (the 1) on the kick. The intro snare is shown as the 4 of the previous bar. The downbeat is also highlighted on the main waveform as on the kick.

This is not something I've edited or adjusted myself. Looks where it should be to me.