Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Stems_split custom behavior scripting help
I'm still pretty new to scripting in VirtualDJ, but I think I'm getting the hang of it for most somewhat basic stuff. I am reaching out here though for help with two ideas that I am wanting to script out, but cannot seem to find a way of doing them, if they are even possible.

First, some context:
I have a Behringer CMD Studio 4a. I currently have it mapped so that the EQ knobs actually control the deck's EQ, but I have the EQ kill buttons control the muting stems of the track (high = vocal kill, mid = melody kill and low = drums kill). I use stems_split by long pressing ("holding") one of the deck controls buttons to split the stems and then be able to do things with the then separated audio.

The issues:
One thing I have found awkward is having to "move" the instrumentals to the vocal track if I decide I want only the drums on another deck and so I have to either briefly mute or double the audio I want to be moved because I can only have one of the two stems_split decks selected at a time to be able to mute it on one deck and then unmute it on the other and more generally that I can only do things to one of the two decks at a time.

The requests:
To solve for this I've been wanting to implement two things.

1. When the stems are split, have the EQ kill buttons for the stems of the linked decks toggle on and off between one another. As an example of what I mean: If I split a stem and then wish to "move" the instrumentals to the deck with the isolated vocals so that then the drums are on their own deck that I can push the mid kill to mute the melody on that deck and also have this simultaneously unmute the instrumentals on the vocals deck.