Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Technical Support

Topic: latency, popping sounds, newbie needs HELP - Page: 1
i'm new to virtual dj and not very good with computer/tech lingo but i'm hoping someone can help. the last gig i did, during a dance set, i started getting a popping sound on every song. i closed VDJ, re-opened and problem went away. I did some reading and saw people talking about latency. TBH, i have NO idea what that means - it's way over my head. I ran a latency test and it says there is an issue. I've looked into the "throttling" it mentions but that appears to be off. I don't have any idea what else to do. This is a screen shot of my latency test, on a brand new windows 10 laptop. can someone give some help, without being too technical???

Posted Sat 16 Apr 22 @ 8:29 pm

Posted Sat 16 Apr 22 @ 8:29 pm
still need help here - VDJ makes a stuttering kind of sound every so often.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSp00GMF8kA this is NOT my video - but someone having the same issues - it occurs around 1:05 into the video

CAN ANYONE HELP ME?!?! i'm in the wedding business and this is making me look bad at events!!!!

Posted Thu 06 Oct 22 @ 8:00 pm
This is very common, especially on new/unprepared laptops
And you are on the right path to fixing it

You need to
1. Not have other processes on the laptop take up and/or block resources
2. Not try to make the laptop do more than it can handle. That's where the latency/buffer settings come in

A bit on latency and buffer size:
https://gigperformer.com/audio-latency-buffer-size-and-sample-rate-explained/

Posted Thu 06 Oct 22 @ 8:05 pm
FINALLY, someone who tries to help, THANK YOU!

I have an ASUS vivo book, running windows 10 home, 8gb installed RAM, AMD Ryzen 3 3250U processor, 64bit operating system

There's LITERALLY no other programs ever running on my laptop when using VDJ - system updates are OFF, Wifi is off, no additional software is installed, and pre-loated bloat-ware has been removed.