Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Skins

Topic: Help: How to Make .PNG button with glow effect that overlaps other buttons

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Hi guys, I'm aware of how this can be achieved by using multiple combinations of the same graphic. My goal is to be able to skip the multiple combinations.
I would like to specify an Icons width and height, but when the mouse is over the icon, extend the width and height so that the icon shows the surrounding glow.

The image below shows the Icons I'm working with. I am planning on doing this all throughout my skin, but need to make sure it can be done first.
I also Attached the image of the Icon dilemma I'm trying to avoid

As of now, I have to first specify a size larger than the original icon in the off state. This causes overlap issues (ie, when the cursor is in between Icons, both light up) . Any Ideas?

Posted Fri 13 Feb 15 @ 8:39 pm
PachNPRO InfinityMember since 2009
I'm no pro skinner, but isn't it possible to define a padding for the icon?
If so, then you could make the padding a little bit smaller than the grafic itself.
That means, you will loose some pix when the button illuminates / is clickable, but you could avoid the double lighting.

Or just leave some space between the buttons.

Posted Sat 14 Feb 15 @ 3:54 am
If you "skip the multiple combinations", what is the source of the glowing version?

Posted Sat 14 Feb 15 @ 5:30 am
groovindj wrote :
If you "skip the multiple combinations", what is the source of the glowing version?

I realize that there has to be a few... as seen in the example I provided, but I'm trying to avoid having to do what you see in the image below

Because there are soooooo many combinations, the image would have to be astronomically large in order to produce such a small effect.
I figured by using .PNGs with alphas, there would be more commands to choose from? Like pad? But how do I script this?

Posted Sat 14 Feb 15 @ 12:09 pm