Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: How to setup to record a mix using CDJ350's, DJM350 and Macbook in VDJ8

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Hello I am pretty new to virtual DJ so any assistance would be awesome.

All I want to do is to be able to record a mix in VDJ8 using my 2 CDJ350's, external DJM350 mixer and Macbook. I know that there is a built in USB recording device on the DJM350 and I can record that way no problem whilst using VDJ8 but I am certain that the DJM350 could still record a mix through VDJ8 using my external mixer.

My current set up are:

Macbook
DJM350 Mixer
2 x CDJ350's
Logitech Z4 computer speakers (http://support.logitech.com/en_us/product/z4-21-speaker-system#knowledge) - I have included what they look like as there a little "volume remote" box that comes with it that has a line input that may play a part in all of this

So my current setup allows me to use VDJ8 and even make a recording using VDJ8 by using the onboard built in USB recording feature of the DJM350 so I know at least its halfway there. The 2 CDJ's connect to the DJM350 mixer using RCA's (one deck per channel) so I am pretty sure that is fine.

The tricky bit now is that I have an RCA to headphone jack cable the connects as follows: 1 x white RCA into channel 1 out on the mixer and 1 x red RCA into channel 2 out on the mixer and then I plug the headphone jack into my Logitech speakers line input on the remote supplied (see the logitech link above so you can see what speakers I am talking about as there is a little box connected to the speakers like a volume remote that has a line input so I connect the mixer to the "remote box"). I then plug the Logitech speakers directly into the Macbook using another jack that comes with the speakers. I hope that makes sense but if it doesn't I can try and upload some pictures so you can see what I mean.

Now for the configuration within VDJ8 I have set as follows:

Deck1: CDJ350