Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: Pre-Listening with Headphones on Gemini G4V

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Hi, I've recently purchased a Gemini G4V and am having trouble listening to the 'next' track with my headphones. I'm new to this so expect I'm doing something wrong rather than there being a problem with the unit.

Everything else is working perfectly, but I can't hear anything out of the headphone jack on the front of the unit. I am using my PC speakers (through a Xonar STX soundcard) for 'main output'. In config it shows as a single output to my soundcard.

I would have thought the front output on the G4V would be totally separate to the software and not need additional setup. Is that wrong? Do I need to connect the G4V to my soundcard somehow to get sound out of the headphone jack at the front? I thought the G4V would control the sound to the headphones via the front jack itself and not need any additional input (it's just connected to the PC by USB).

I've turned all the faders up and had 4 tracks playing a loop to make sure there is sound playing. I've tried turning the cue volume at the front and the cue/pgm balance knob in the middle of the unit. I just don't get anything on the headphones. I've also toggled the PFL buttons but they don't have any affect.

Any help appreciated.

Posted Thu 24 Jul 14 @ 7:08 pm
djdadPRO InfinityDevelopment ManagerMember since 2005
You will need to connect speakers to the Master Output of the G4V and have the following Sound Setup
Inputs : None
Outputs : Headphones
Sound card : ASIO and next tot that choose the Gemini ASIO (you will have to install them of course)

If you re using the LE version of VirtualDJ, and still need to listen through your computer's speakers but prelisten from the Gemini, your only chance is to connect the Master Output of the G4V with the Line In /Mic Input of yoru computer, and follow the same Audio Setup as above.