Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Plugins

Topic: I have a Slipmode plugin idea - but c++ is getting me down

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

ChacklPRO InfinityMember since 2007
Hello!

I'm a german programmer and i developed some plugins vor Virtual DJ. Put they are made with Synthmaker and now i need some stuff with the SDK and c++ - Since beginn of summer i experimented wit Visual c++ and the SDK of Virtual DJ found on wiki. and i got a working (little buggy) slipmode with the "clone_deck" script. But for me that is not enouch!

what i want to do is to messure the time that the effect is turned on and after turning it off the effekt manipulates the song position to the measured time - to get the slipmode as found on Pioneer CDJ 900 or 2000 nexus.

Well that it is doing is simplple but my c++ is verry basik and synthmaker can't do such things.

Here is a little "diagramm" how i imagine it:

[On Effect Active]
Time_start = system-time
deck_pitch = get "pitch" <- Save the Pitch of the Virtual DJs Deck, where the effekt is executed
song_pos_start = get "time" <- Save the songs time Position

[On Effect Stop]
Time_stop = system-time
time_dif = Time_stop - Time_start
time_dif = time_dif * deck_pitch <- calculates the time with the startpitch
new_time = song_pos_start + time_dif <- claculate the ned position for the deck in Milliseconds!!!
Sendcommand "goto " & new_time & "ms" <- goto the new songpos on the deck

Please Please Please Please Please Please,
Maby some c++ Guro is able to help me with that :D

Thanks,
Best regards C.Hackl

Posted Thu 20 Sep 12 @ 4:24 am
1) I would make it an "Other" plugin... This means that it would work all the time (no need for activation, no de-activation when the deck loads a new song)
2) I would use variables to perform the "SLIP" activation