Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Plugins

Topic: Remove all the confusion with VSTs and Virtual DJ - Tested by a VST Developer

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

ChacklPRO InfinityMember since 2007
Hello.

I hope i'm not posting now something twice but i tried to seach such an artikle and did'nt find anything. Got a lot of PMs at facebook about the same thing. It seems that users are a bit confused about the usage of VSTs so i'll explain a little intro befor you PM me down ^^

First of all, i'm a developer of VSTs since nearly 3 jears. With "Work of C.Hackl" and later "Mainstream Audio" i developed a lot Plugins and Tools, so i may say, i know what i'm talking.

VST Basics
VSTs are Plugins that are be able to load in Music Hosts like Cubase or FL-Studio. The interface (SDK) was developed from Steinberg.

There are three main types of VSTs:
VSTs:
Those Plugins are "Effect" Plugins, that means they basicaly have a Stereo Input and an Stereo output.
VSTis:
VST Instruments are Plugins that act like a Synthesizer. They have a MIDI input and a Stereo output.
Combined VSTs:
Those Plugins are Synthesizers with combined effect section. You are able to play on keyboard (you use the VSTi) while using the effects for the audio of the synthesizer and your input chanal. They have a MIDI in, a Stereo in and also a Stereo out. The Stereo in is linked directly to the effects and then to the stereo out.

Every VST gets Parameter from the Host, like Tempo, actual Position (in VDJ Songpos) or the Timecode.
In VSTs there are 2 different types of codings:
Parametric: Those lines are calculated with the CPU only
Stream: Those lines define the sound of the VST and are calculated in CPU in DX-Mode or in the ASIO-DSP of the soundcard

VDJ loads VST - What is done
In VDJ you are able to load nearly every VST, BUT there are limitations!!!