Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: on board sound card?

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Just a quick question... I’m trying VDJ, and likening in quite well.... I am considering using it for mixing for a party, once I purchase the full version.

It sounds GREAT on my home pc, connected to my PC speakers... good speakers with a sub. I do not have a sound card, just the on board sound that came with my Asus motherboard. If I was to connect to a mixing board, then amp, then pro speakers.... DO I NEED TO GET A SOUND CARD??? shouldn’t it sound just as good as it does in my home, on the PC speakers?

I’m very new to computer DJ'in.. any help will be helpful!

Scottie

Posted Thu 30 Jun 05 @ 3:07 am
Hello deejay scottie! Virtual DJ is a very powerful software and it is well worth its price.
Firstly, what onboard card do you have? Is it a 5 channel, 6 channel or what?
If you want to connect it to an external mixer, then you will need atleast two seperate outputs from your soundcard. (It is also possible with just one, but not so practical).
But if you are satisfied with the quality of sound coming form your soundcard, it wouldnt be necessary for you to get another s/c.
But , there are some s/cs out there that give you professional quality sound exclusively for djing purposes. Please search these forums for more info, and also, you can wait for other djs for their opinions...
regards.
Aditya

Posted Thu 30 Jun 05 @ 7:38 am
Thanks, I conected my pc up to my system... the on board sound card isnt going to cut it.... the volume is very low. ALso I got some interference noise. I was hopeing that I could use what I had, without having to spend too much to up grade my Pc. Its farily new, P4 3.0, but I didnt bother with a sound or vid card... looks like Im going to have to get one now. But they range from cheep, to very expencive.... Where is a good place to get info on what Im going to need?
Thanks, Scott