Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Plugins

Topic: Plugin developer

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Hi guys !!

I'm a c++ programmer and some of my clients use VirtualDJ to play music in his clubs. Now, they have asked me to extend the functionality of the software adding some plugins. For this, I need the plugin SDK and some source code for orientation. Actually I only can download the SDK header files, but I need more information (for example, about the commands and the info that I can exchange with VirtualDJ)

What can I do to get access to this information ?
Thanks a lot

Posted Wed 16 Jun 10 @ 3:51 am
SBDJPRO Infinity Member since 2006
Source code is only available to licensed users of VDJ who have attained the Experienced level status and above.

As indicated in the SDK, information exchange with VDJ is via the SendCommand() and GetInfo() calls. Sending "help" to GetInfo() will get you a pointer to a char containing available GetInfo() queries. SendCommand() makes use of the usual commands available to VDJ through other means.

What kind of plugins are you interested in developing?

Regards,

Scott

Posted Wed 16 Jun 10 @ 8:17 am
Thank you a lot for your answer, Scott... I'm only trying to be sending the title of the current song played to a Led panel. The part about the Led panel is not the problem, however i don't have enough information about the plugin SDK. I have already compiled a working basic plugin (non functional), and virtualDJ recognizes it (shows the pluginInfo data), but as I don't have any source code reference, I don't now how to ask VirtualDJ about the Current song title, and most important, Where to put this code, because I only can identify the onLoad and OnGetPluginInfo functions, and it doesn't seem to be here.
Any help will be appreciated.

Posted Wed 16 Jun 10 @ 1:30 pm
SBDJPRO Infinity Member since 2006