Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: netsearch and musicgroups

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Is it safe to use them without antivirus....?? since my laptop is vdj dedicated.

Posted Wed 30 Dec 09 @ 1:35 pm
Hi,

Using these services as such is not dangerous, but... In order to use them you need to connect your pc to the internet, and without an antivirus, well.....

I'm in the same situation as you. I keep my main Giging laptop away from the internet, just to keep it clean and VDJ friendly.

I'm not an expert, but adding a rule in windows host file could help you. That way your pc would only be able to access virtualdj.com, but again I don't know if that's enough to make both, music groups and netsearch work.

the way to apply a route/host rule is "ROUTE ADD" ... Doing a Google search would help to find out more about this.

Posted Wed 30 Dec 09 @ 2:00 pm
I am not sure but i think that vdj comunicates with other sites to get acess to netsearcn friendly files...so mabye this is not the way to go...thnxxx anyway

Posted Wed 30 Dec 09 @ 7:50 pm
For what it's worth; I run trend micro internet security on my Windows 7 system without any problems and run WiFi with netsearch without any issues.

Posted Thu 31 Dec 09 @ 12:51 am
fenderisc wrote :
Is it safe to use them without antivirus....?? since my laptop is vdj dedicated.

my firewall and anit-virus on my desktop hasnt shown one blip or issue with netsearch..
so far it seems to be 100% safe..

since the format runs strictly thru VDJ and it uses a proprietory extension, its pretty safe to assume that a virus would have a hard time working its way out.. (unless you personally downloaded something that changed VDJ itself)..

you are connected to the internet, but that connection is basically running thru VDJ, so unless you start 'surfing' and 'browsing' sites at the same time, their really is no way to get 'attacked'.. (unless you already have a worm or virus present)