Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Skins

Topic: Prep Help!!!!

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

What is the best way to trim this player. I started but trying to remove the white around it is not easy in my software.

This is my first project. I know what I want. I have the slightest idea of what im doing. Where do I start? Much help is appreciated.
Thank You.

Posted Tue 20 Oct 09 @ 3:23 pm
JeremKPRO InfinityModeratorMember since 2004
Hi,

I personally use Photofiltre when triming white around pictures. But I think using Paint.Net or Photoshop could be better.
You can try setting the white color as transparent, but this might make part of the white in the deck transparent too.
Other solution is to use a flood fill with pink color and make sure only the white around the deck is changed to pink, and then set pink as transparent. And correct by hand every little pixel that isn't transparent.

The best is to finish the picture first, or at least 80% of it. And then start the XML.
For the XML, I advise using the Skin Creator Tool: http://www.virtualdj.com/addons/tools.html
It helps alot when you don't know how to make skins.

Posted Tue 20 Oct 09 @ 5:05 pm
I have skin creator. Nice work. I have know idea how to use it. I tried to invert the pic. that was the first thing i did. it looks cool but the lite areas went black.

The top is the problem im having.

Posted Tue 20 Oct 09 @ 6:13 pm
Ok im using paint.net. I used the magic wand, removed the white and saw the grid in the back. When i export and pull up in another program, its still there. What is wrong?

Posted Tue 20 Oct 09 @ 10:49 pm
Tear Em 'UpPRO InfinitySenior ModeratorMember since 2006
What format are you saving them as? For example if you save them as a .jpg the program automatically fills in the background. I would try saving them as a .png. See if that gives you the results your looking for.

Posted Wed 21 Oct 09 @ 7:39 am
listen2PRO InfinityMember since 2005