Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: Good choice or not?

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

VVooDzCUE userMember since 2008
Trying to avoid the big Vinyl vs. CD debate as for me it is not an issue.

I'm just starting out on my DJ journey... I need to start some where but I want to make sure I get a good head start.
I initially wanted twin CD players but wanted them to have onboard sound-cards so I could also connect to Virtual-DJ. The Pioneer CDJ-400, Numark iCDX or even the Denon S1200 looked very good options. I would still need a mixer however, where I first thought the Hercules RMX would do the job. But reviews have not been consistent. I also very rarely read a positive review on the Total Control from Numark and the material quality looked more Play-station than Semi-professional mixer. I also looked at the Vestax VMC-002 XLU as not only does it have a USB port but also has XLR output. I understand that 'Industry standard' is pretty much RC but you can lose up to 30% of the sound quality using this medium. So I wanted something with an good Line-Out. The biggest problem I have is keeping costs down. In a perfect world you just buy and not think about it, However as you know there are still a 1001 choices.

First up and most import I need to purchase Virtual-DJ
Second I want a good Mixer (an All in One solution can be considered but it must work without VDJ should I have a system failure)
Third Music/Control medium (Either Turntables or CD. I am really not bothered)

After many hours of reading threads here and searching webites and hearing customer reviews on Youtube, I have finally decided on the following and this is where I am asking for your help.

Numark TT1650 turntable x2
Numark DXM06 Mixer
Numark Virtual Vinyl.