Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: Problem with Crackey & Poppey Sound

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Hi, I'm hoping someone here can help me. I've recently noticed a problem with crackey and poppey sound, sometimes it's nearly continuous. I've been running VDJ since mid-2004, and on some pretty busted machines and haven't had a problem with the sound until recently, when I upgraded the version and the machine. I don't have a particularly special setup, am just using the program at home to make mix cd's for friends. I'm using the following setup:

Vista
AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core 3800+
3GB SDRAM
Whatever sound card came with the machine

When the problem occurs (which is almost always), the machine doesn't seem to be running up against any performance limitations. Also, I tried creating a separate profile with less programs running and very basic visuals to free up more performance, made things slightly better but did not solve the problem. It sounds like the sound is not being processed correctly, as opposed to a situation where the sound skips because of not enough memory.

I don't know what else to do. Hopefully someone here can help.

Thanks!
-Chris

Posted Tue 24 Jun 08 @ 9:56 am
erxonPRO InfinityMember since 2003
Crackling and poping occours when the software clashes with ASIO drivers, or when a
latency (buffer size) is lowerd too much and it cannot be handeled properly. Raising
the latency usually does the trick (if it is very low), but I experienced an unusual problem
a few weeks ago, that the crackling was very audiable (on any ASIO/performance settings)
on tracks that had filtered (low pass) transitions. I often used the software while having
drivers shared with Cubase system, so I figured the settings might got corrupted. Simple
reinstalling of the Virtual Dj and setting a solid latency removed the problem, the sound
now has no degradation at all.