Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: VDJ 5.1 a downgrade for some??? [SOLVED]

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

I don't want to be too much of a bummer here, ‘cause I’ve been loving the software for a couple years now, BUT…

I hesitantly upgraded to 5.1 the other day. I say hesitantly b/c most upgrades in the past have resulted in having to reconfig most of my settings to get everything working well again.

So I upgraded and and BOOM! Instant chaos! I first noticed that all my settings remained the same, all my files were where they were supposed to be, and all the cues and such were all still good. GREAT! Then I went to play a few tracks and got the worst sounding crackle on top of the tunes. I’ve been running V5.0.something? for about 6-8 months now, and it’s been mostly flawless. What has changed so much in V5.1 that makes my system go haywire, despite no changes in any settings?

I guess some background would help here…
I’m running:
Dell Inspiron Core2Duo @ 1.8Ghz (I think that's the speed)
2 GB RAM
Windows XP Pro
Hercules MK2 w/ TCV
ASIO4ALL drivers
Audio only, no video

So what’s changed so much? I played around with the performance settings and managed to get the crackles to go away for the most part, but I had to set my latency to the highest setting, which affected scratching negatively, and the waveforms at the top of the screen are kind of jittery at this setting. When I go back to the settings that worked in the previous version, the scratching and the waveforms are fine, but the sound is horribly glitchy and crackly.

As another test, I ran VDJ w/ no inputs, and usin my laptop soundcard instead of the Herc, and got a scratchy and poppy sound…