Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: upgrades and performance

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

oliwynnPRO InfinityMember since 2004
Hi,

Ive got my summer of djing coming up and i'm thinking i need to upgrade my 4 year old laptop. Its an inspiron 1150 1.83 celeron processor, 512 mb ram 40gb harddrive running a stripped down version of xp. Ive been looking at upgrading to another laptop but im a poor student and can only really afford about £500 max. There is another option though that i need advice on, upgrading the ram. I can buy 2 1gb ram chips for £80 which is a lot cheaper than getting a new laptop but will this be better performance wise. Im not really sure whether virtual dj is hard on ram or on processor power. Can anyone advise? has anyone done this? if so what were the results?

thanks,

Oli

Posted Sun 25 May 08 @ 6:20 am
DJ-ALFPRO InfinityModeratorMember since 2005
Hi
You must tell us will you do video or not? For audio you can use your old one, but it is better to get something new with 2 core cpu and 2gb ram as not only amount of memory is important, it is also speed.
For 500 you can get decent laptop with dual core Cpu, 2Gb ram, 160Gb HDD and some integrated video card (not for video use).

Posted Sun 25 May 08 @ 7:47 am
Its just for audio no video at all. Would the new ram improve performance a lot or not? It seems to work fine at the moment just for audio so maybe it will be ok with some new ram in it?

thanks

oli

Posted Sun 25 May 08 @ 5:59 pm
DJ-ALFPRO InfinityModeratorMember since 2005
You can upgrade with additional 512mb and it will work ok.

Posted Mon 26 May 08 @ 5:54 am
Oli

I've been thinking about this too.

My laptop's the same spec as yours, and I've found that increasing the size of the Paging File helps VDJ run a bit smoother.

Control Panel
System
Advanced
Performance Settings
Advanced
Change Virtual Memory