Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: You should read this please. - Page: 1

This part of topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information

Hi everyone, Before i begin, i would like to say that, this is my opinion, and everyone here has a different opinion.

The following is an experience that i want to share with you all, the kind of people who need a small word of support and courage to do what they are happy with. And at this time, im that person.

Earlier today, i had met a DJ who was in the works for around 5 years (CDplayers) and now is into Sound systems and speakers. I met up with him for the reason that i needed some guidance to be a good dj.

I want to get one thing straight. Im a student and i cant commit to Djing as a profession. Its my passion, and my hobby, which will last as long as theres hope and support.

Firstly, my question to him was that, i want to be good at what im doing and i want certain guides, and upon him asking me about what i use, i said, i use a software called VDJ... His immediate response was, chuck the software, chuck the pc...Use cd players, thats where the actual skill lies and also that the quality of sound doesnt match to that of a cd. This would be true to some extent.

Well, i was at a position where i didnt know what to do next, He kept suppressing my connection with VDJ and he said, if i want to be good, i should just get cd players and forget about my pc.

I had (still have) plans on rackmounting my system, getting a good mixer (my NUmark DXM01 mixer is not rackmountable,) and the dac2. All this, rackmounted, would make my dream come true... But there he was, telling me that i should switch to cd players. Why? Because its not right to use a software! And again why? Because its too easy and doesnt require ny skill! still why not? Because (finally) "mp3s are sh*t compared to cds..."