Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Hercules / Behringer Contrilers

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

djcityPRO InfinityMember since 2005
Can someone help me out with this? I am a PRO DJ and am looking into mixing from my laptop and will use VDJ. I will either use TCV or if its worth it, one of the controlers. If any of you have read any of my previous notations in these forums then you know that I am a Pro DJ that has used vinal for the last 15 years and got into cdj'ing in the past 5 years. I have my turntables, my mixer, My sound system. I have a laptop w/ VDJ trial and am SERIOUSLY looking towards purchasing the full version. I still have a question or two (maybe more than two). I have never DJ'ed with any kind of controler. When DJ'ing cd's I use my Pioneers or my Denons. this CPU DJ'ing is brand new to me so....

1. How would someone set up and use a Hercules or Behringer controler?

2. What does one need (hardware) in order to use one of these controls?

3. Can you "really" scratch with one of these?

4. Is one better than the other and if so why?

Im sure the answers to these questions will prompt more questions from me. I just don't know what to ask yet and I want to be SURE about stuff before I put my cash out.
Thanx...
DJ CITY
Washington D.C.

Posted Fri 06 Jan 06 @ 6:58 pm
If you mainly use dual CD players, the DAC-3 would be the best choice. This provides a very familiar interface, allowing you to control VDJ with all the same functionality direct from the controller. It has free-spinning jogwheels and LCD displays showing time remaining, pitch/BPM, etc., along with plenty of buttons to control VDJ without needing to touch the PC/laptop. My custom mapper for the DAC-3 gives similar behaviour to dual-CD players, along with direct access to FX, loops and video mixing (Including automatic video crossfading.)