Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Creating MP3 Turntables

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Hi, I am doing a degree in electronic engineering and I was wondering if anyone could help me out.
The aim of my project is to make a set of turntables and a mixer control the playback of MP3s on my PC, so I will be using a record with a timecode to send information about the position in the track and the direction of movement etc to the computer, where a program will decipher the information and play the mp3 accordingly.
The thing is, I am not really sure what I need to do this, I will end up using existing equipment for a a lot of it and I'm not sure whether theres enough that i can do on my own to make it worth doing the project... What happens to the signal taken from the time-coded record?
Any help on this subject much appreciated, as i am a bit behind on my project and really need some help!!!
Cheers guys!
Ol

Posted Sat 24 Dec 05 @ 6:08 pm
mmmm I think the the question you have asked would be a conflict of intrest ! the thing is it would kinda be like asking kernel sanders what's in his "secret recipe" ! ( @ vdj staff : correct me if I'm wrong in the above statement ?) the thing is its already been done several times so why try re-invent the wheel ?

but to answer your question its all about allgarithems, its 1000000 little dots that each have a number attatched that coincied with a tenth of a second in the track that is associated with a mathematical sum determining the position of the wave at a specific moment in time. - I think !?

its more of a science than art form behind the scene's but as evey one here can agree when it comes down to the crunch making mixing feeling music is by far more of an art form than a science !
luv to all and a merry christmass ! keep spinnin'

spider 911 - spin spin spider

Posted Sat 24 Dec 05 @ 8:58 pm
Dj XeoPRO InfinityMember since 2005