Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Calling all working "Virtual" DJ's - Page: 1

This part of topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information

i wanted to ask those who have made the crossover from vinyl/cd's to computer dj'ing, how you personally sell yourself and your skills to promoters, clubs and whoever else.

i am a professional dj and i have been dj'ing using vinyl since early 90's. i would very much like to switch entirely over to using VDJ at my gigs instead of vinyl or cd's, for the many obvious reasons there are, BUT, i don't know how i'm going to go about selling my skillz if i do this.

I don't know how i'm going to approach my booking agency to tell them i will no longer be using tables, i will be bringing "my laptop instead". same with party promoters. every party i have ever played or foresee myself playing, is full of strictly vinyl *s n o b s*. I imagine i will have a tough time convincing promoters to hire me and my skillz as a "dj" when technically i no longer am a "disc"-jockey but rather a "virtual" *mp3*-jockey.

the cool factor in being a dj has always been about the skill it takes to juggle two records, beat & key match with turntables, to do this well and to keep a party moving. but when 99% of the job is done by a little black box, how does one sell themselves anymore when you are now simply the "controller" of that little black box, a job that most anyone could do with very little experience. it took me years of practice to learn how to keep the crowd on the floor and entertained with vinyl records. VDJ allows almost anyone at all to do the exact same thing in a matter of a few sessions with the software.

i dunno what i'm trying to say...maybe a little too philosophical for a friday afternoon :), but i am really curious as to how the professionals on this list have fared.

any and all advice much appreciated.

Posted Fri 05 Dec 03 @ 9:57 pm
OjLenoHome userMember since 2003