Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Technical Support

Topic: complete newbie trying to record

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

so i'm set up with 2 numark ndx500s and a behringer mixer. my audio settings are OUTPUTS- separate decks HARDWARE- numark ndx500 and usb soundcard no inputs. i've had two issues with recording and broadcasting. the recording one is i have no idea what i'm doing with it. when i've managed to record something it sounds like it's being recorded on a microphone despite having the record microphone option off. can anyone help?

the broadcasting one is i've been told people can hear me cueing up the next track. i'm trying to record on vdj so i can hear what they do. any help would be much appreciated since i've been trying to find help through google and youtube for days and have gotten nowhere. any guides i find either don't describe my issues or explains things in technical jargon which im useless at.

Posted Tue 25 Aug 20 @ 6:05 pm
user21468741 wrote :
people can hear me cueing up the next track

That's because you're using an external mixer setup, so the mixing is not being done by the VDJ software mixer. The standard config for broadcasting outputs audio from the VDJ mixer - which you're not using.

You need to broadcast from a loopback - basically send the master output from your external mixer back into VDJ via a cable, and set that as your broadcast source.

Posted Tue 25 Aug 20 @ 6:46 pm
groovindj wrote :
user21468741 wrote :
people can hear me cueing up the next track

That's because you're using an external mixer setup, so the mixing is not being done by the VDJ software mixer. The standard config for broadcasting outputs audio from the VDJ mixer - which you're not using.

You need to broadcast from a loopback - basically send the master output from your external mixer back into VDJ via a cable, and set that as your broadcast source.