Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: VirtualDJ2018 for Karaoke

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Psej71Home userMember since 2019
Hi all
Newbie here and having just discovered the ease at which I can use this software for karaoke (instead of Winamp!).

So I’ve installed the software on my laptop and have tagged my tracks that are stored on my external hard drive. Everything works great and I note that when in karaoke mode that all tracks run on Deck A ( to be honest deck B is surplus to my needs).

I’ve just tried to connect to my Yamaha powered mixer EMX512SC but now I can’t hear any sound? I changed the setting to “headphones” so that the sound will be transmitted through my RCA leads which are plugged into my line in (L&R) on channel 5/6 . I saw that another setting said “master” so I changed that to deck 1 via internal sound card but that still is not producing any sound? Am I doing something wrong? There’s an option for external mixer and I realise that this is so you can pass sounds from 2 decks to a mixer (assume I would have to use a splitter and plug separate RCA cables into two different inputs on my mixer - but as I only ever want it for karaoke an d only ever the 1 deck is used surely there’s a simple way to get this to work?

I’m really new to all of this so forgive my ignorance. I don’t need separate sound cards or whatever else....I just want the sound to output from deck A to go out of my headphone output socket (and disengage internal laptop speakers) and into my mixer so I can hear the sound and let me sing over the sound via my microphone which is in input 1.

Thanks very much

Paul

Posted Sat 10 Aug 19 @ 8:51 pm