Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Plugins

Topic: Reading the current Filepath - Page: 1

This part of topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information

Hello there!
I need some help with programming a very basic kind of plugin for the purpose of displaying the currently played songs corresponding "Dance-Name" (I work for a dancing school :) ).

I have been searching around a lot how to do this and I just can't find any help yet. My problem is, that I'm just a student of electronics engineering and only had one semester of C++. The real problem though is, that I just don't even understand how to create my own .dll for the plugin and how to use it correctly afterwards.

If somebody could give me some more basic instructions about producing my own plugin and then getting the "get_filepath" - Verb running, I would be very grateful. I just need the path of the currently playing song to read out the corresponding folder (I already compiled a very well defined structure for all the different dances so it is all "well organized") and the rest will be relatively easy I think.

Currently I'm trying to get it to work with Visual Studio 2010 and put the corrent output folder in. Also I already have some .dll created, but no idea if it works and also no idea how to test that. Sorry if all of that sounds very stupid to you. :D
Thanks in Advance! :)

Posted Thu 22 Mar 18 @ 9:45 am
PachNPRO InfinityMember since 2009
If you are a student you school probably has a MSDN account or even gave one to you. So I suggest to Upgrade to a more up to date version of VS. Preferably 15 or 17.

Did you already read this site(s)?
https://virtualdj.com/wiki/PluginSDK8.html

Posted Thu 22 Mar 18 @ 1:54 pm
Yes I have read it and I also used all the files there, but sadly I just don't get to the point of knowing how to debug the .dll (I need quite some time to program something correctly so it's hard to just let it create the .dll and it usually says "can't run the .dll" afterwards).