Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Wishes and new features

Topic: Touchscreen Capability for Windows 7

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

I think this is a no-brainer - what DJ wouldn't give his eye-tooth to be able to control their decks simply by touching the screen! I don't how many times I've wanted to touch my screen to start or stop the decks since I started using Virtual DJ/Cue 6 months ago (just to let you know - I've been using physical CD decks for the past 20 years). I know, I know - we have MIDI controllers that do the same thing, but wouldn't it be nice not to have to connect another device to our PC?

When touchscreen capability becomes available in Windows 7 (late 2009, early 2010), it will revolutionze the way we interact with PCs. I, for one, would gladly give up this mouse/keyboard stuff (it "gets in the way" of me playing music). Just look at what the i-pod/i-phone has done for music/communications.

If implemented correctly (I hope Numark is busing working/testing on this NOW), this will be a boon to DJers and a knockout to the competition.

P.S. Of course, this means buying new screens (or laptops). Maybe this feature would be the excuse people in general (not just DJs) need to upgrade their PC's, and that, in turn, could help kickstart our economy...?

Posted Sun 16 Aug 09 @ 3:06 pm
SBDJPRO Infinity Member since 2006
It's already possible, has been for a long time and doesn't need Windows 7. Touchscreen technology isn't for me personally in the DJ booth though I'm afraid - but there are people on here using it.

Posted Sun 16 Aug 09 @ 5:26 pm
Im very sure Numark is not getting into the business of developing touchscreen overlays for monitors.

that is the technology you need to look for, and quite certainly the music industry will not be moving into this line of product.

HOWEVER...