Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: 1st USB mixer - suggestions?

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

I'm sorry if this is in the wrong section - also sorry that I'm a complete noob. Yup, I'm one of those.

I've got version 5.2 of Virtual DJ (got it ages ago when I was big in DJ-ing) and I'm hosting this year's holiday party. I also did host last year but keyboard and mouse was such a pain (and doesn't look as professional) that I want to be prepared this year. I've looked around and there's this talk about sound cards and so much stuff that I don't even know where to start. I have little time as it is to look around so I thought you guys could help me out.

Got a laptop and wanting to start fresh. New mixer, new copy of Virtual DJ, the bundle. Price budget of $140-ish. Nothing fancy. Just something I can USB-plug in my laptop and start mixing (basically cross-fading, really) with little to no work such as installing stuff/burning CD's like I've read in another topic. Output for music is just an AUX wire from a sound system into the laptop. No setup at all on my part, just something for a night and to play around in my room with so I'm not serious as you guys. ;)

Any suggestion/help would be GREATLY appreciated. I love music and I only wish to hone my skills to reflect that. Used Virtual DJ for so long that having proper equipment would be the next logical step. Thanks!

Posted Mon 24 Nov 14 @ 3:56 am
idj4himPRO InfinityMember since 2009
did you ever get anything going? I have the hercules dj Air controller[130.00ish]. also I subscribe to vdj8.[19.00 a month]. im a bedroom dj and got out of doing paying gigs a few years back. but i love to mix and scratch and remixing music. this method works great and it sounds like what you are looking for. good luck

Posted Tue 25 Nov 14 @ 8:15 pm