Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Music discussion

Topic: R 'n B

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

I'm looking for some pointers as how to mix R 'n B music. I'm doing mainly dance and trance mixing at the moment, but am looking to expand my possibilities.

Yet I have no clue as to how to start at this.

Posted Mon 04 Feb 02 @ 3:52 pm
RnB pretty current RnB pretty much goes from 89BPM to about 104 BPM. Then there is a gap... Starts back up at 130 BPM to about 146BPM.

It's pretty much the same ... Just listen for that Beat that makes your head nod.

I am the opposite, I am just getting into world music..ie Tosca, Natacha Atlas.....

For some current NY RnB sounds look at 987kissfm.com

Posted Tue 05 Feb 02 @ 5:44 am
try this:

while the first song is playing, load the second song and forward to where the first beat is at, then cue that, now when the first song is on the first beat start ur second song and try to listen for the snares of both songs, which should be at the same time. if not pitch ur second song up or down. alos use the 'Visual Mix Window' to get the beat matched.

i hope i could help a bit

good luck

Posted Tue 05 Feb 02 @ 8:08 pm
MikeyHome userMember since 2001
I started out mixing heaps of trance, but now for some reason I'm focusing on Blazin' RnB and Hip-Hop. I wrote this up in another forum (with a few mods):

1. Calculate the bpm of each song. You probably already know not to rely on the automatically calculated bpm because it's usually wrong with the irregular beat found in most rnb/hip-hop. I've been using the Pitchfork plugin for winamp to do this. Pitchfork does not give decimal figures in it's bpm calculation, so I made beat loops in cool edit, one at 60bpm, one at 80bpm and one at 100bpm. By beatmixing this beat loop with the song, you can find the exact bpm!