Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Technical Support

Topic: Is mapping an issue with my Traktor Kontroler S2?

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Hello, all! First, I am brand new to using a laptop/controller for DJing. I am still new to DJing period. That said, I didn’t want to spend a huge amount of money on something I had no idea I would like or not. I purchased a Traktor Kontroler S2 (MK1 I think) locally. I’m pretty sure I downloaded the driver software correctly. When I plug the S2 into the laptop, a message flashed saying I had no license for the controller. I immediately purchased a license for the S2 through VDJ.

When I plug the S2 into the laptop things get confusing. All the lights operate on the controller. When I manipulate the knobs and slides, you can see the same manipulation in VDJ. The jog wheel works as advertised as well as seeing the operation in VDJ. Pressing “Shift+Play” the key lock engages.

My problem: When I press and hold the “Shift” button on the S2 alone the song plays only if I hold the button down. When I release the “shift” button on the S2 it’s the same as turning the power off to a turntable. Spins down slowly. When I press the “Play” button on the S2, it lights up on the S2 and you can see the button actuation on VDJ, but the track doesn’t play. Pressing the “cue” button on the S2 correlates to VDJ, but again nothing happens.

What I’m trying to prevent is going into the mapping on my own and making a bad problem worse. Any help you could provide would be awesome.

Phil

Posted Sun 08 Sep 19 @ 3:52 pm
djdadPRO InfinityDevelopment ManagerMember since 2005
Can you do this test please ?
- Start a track using the PLAY button.
- Open VDJ Settings, go to Controllers tab and then select the Traktor S2 from the top-left list.
- Press and hold SHIFT button (try not to touch or move anything else on your controller)