Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ 8.1 Technical Support

Topic: Contiguous memory problem

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

I was fooling around with VDJ8 tonight and got this message and lost my sound!! What can I do to rectify it?

Posted Tue 19 Jan 16 @ 5:38 am
blckjckPRO InfinityMember since 2008
That usually has to do with the max buffers setting for the video ram in the options. Also, have you adjusted the file preload time, or is it still default?

Posted Tue 19 Jan 16 @ 5:48 am
I haven't touched anything. I just started playing with 8. I know what to do in 7 but can you give me step by step what to do in 8

Posted Tue 19 Jan 16 @ 5:51 am
I don't see anything about buffering or ram in options

Posted Tue 19 Jan 16 @ 5:53 am
preload is set to 50. I never touched it

Posted Tue 19 Jan 16 @ 5:55 am
Unfortunately, I won't be at my PC for another 8 hours or so. I'm trying to see if I can find the setting in the manual or a Google search. It was an adjustment I had to make in VDJ7. The Auto setting was fine for me in 8. Some older builds had issues with some users as well. But it was reported to have been fixed in Build 2453.
Are you using 8.1 with the current build? I think the public release is still 2770

Posted Tue 19 Jan 16 @ 5:57 am
videoMaxMemory Is the variable.
You have to go into settings>options>video> to find it. Make sure the Advanced options is checked in the upper right.
You also need to know the amount of memory your video card has.

Posted Tue 19 Jan 16 @ 6:01 am
Yes 8.1 with current build

Posted Tue 19 Jan 16 @ 6:02 am
Do I change it to manual or just leave it automatic

Posted Tue 19 Jan 16 @ 6:03 am
The variable description is listed on page 110 of the user guide.

Posted Tue 19 Jan 16 @ 6:04 am
Specs say 2g of discrete video mem. I have an Alienware m17 R4. This never happened in the past with 7

Posted Tue 19 Jan 16 @ 6:07 am
Yes I read the description earlier but it doesn't say what or how much to put